Recipe for thought: S’more flavored cookies, attempt #3

Well, seeing that I never claimed to be a recipe source, try this at your risk.

I’ve taken to trying new cookie flavors. I’ve worked out a base original Nestle recipe that is tried and true, and figured out the timing, the temperature, and all the tiny details that make these cookies soft and chewy just the way I like them. However, I found as I add flavour, I need to modify the base recipe, to account for sweetness or varying baking speeds.

I’m on the hunt to make a cookie that tastes like s’mores. Yes, the classic campfire burnt marshmallow sandwiched between two graham crackers and a piece of chocolate. But that perfect flavor is eluding me.

I can’t seem to get the graham flavor replicated. I tried replacing flour with crushed graham cracker powder, throwing in bits of Golden Graham cereal, all without success. The cereal brought out the flavour, but came out in a really mealy texture which I found distasteful.

I finally realized that I probably needed to change the cookie to reflect the ingredients of a graham cracker, albeit sans crunch. So here’s the recipe I finally came up. It didn’t quite taste graham-y, but it was closer. In fact, it tasted more like gingerbread, sans ginger.

So, give it a go, if you dare, and please give me feedback to help me on my graham dilemma.

Ingredients1 1/2 cup wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tbs baking soda
1 tbs salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup of molasses syrup
1 tsb honey
1 cup butter (2 sticks) room temperature
2 eggs, room temperature
small marshmallows
two bars of  dark chocolate, chopped
one bar of milk chocolate, chopped

Preheat oven to 375° F

Beat butter and sugars until creamy. Add in eggs until even. Add molasses and honey until texture is gooey. Beat in baking soda and salt. Gradually combine flour.

Stir in chocolate.

Spoon mixture on baking sheet. Place marshmallows on top of each cookie as desired. Don’t mix marshmallows inside mixture- baking temperature will melt and harden.

Bake for approximately 10 minutes. Cookies may turn golden in the edges. Bake 3-5 minutes longer if you prefer your cookies crunchy.

smore cookies

Thoughts? Suggestions? I’m open to them.

Regardless of the lack of graham taste, these cookies were popular.. and gone in a flash when I brought them to work.

 

Leave a Reply

