A-Z Archive II: C Challenge

China. How things change in a decade. My first time in China, I was a teenager. My parents never let us out of their arms’ reach. We were ordered to keep our mouths shut and quiet when we were in crowds. Dad hired a taxi driver to be dedicated to chauffeuring us around for the whole trip. We were bundled and rushed in and out of the car straight to the sightseeing points.

I went back to Beijing more recently on my own. I meandered around, even at night. Took the subway to get around. Loitered in the park to watch crowds of elderly people listen to traditional opera and dance. And instructors lead groups of tai chi.

Much has changed. But I don’t think it’s just China.

So have I.

 

Check out other A-Z Archive participants at http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/story-challenge-letter-c/

Leave a Reply

