Oh Dear. Vote by Representation, eh?

I rank a country’s development and standing based on how diverse their representation is.


Photo source: Think Progress.org

One thing about being an American abroad is I don’t get bombarded with the same level of furor of US press. I am not oblivious and the world does pay attention to American news, but the nuances are more subdued, sometimes more bareboned factual.

This picture, though, almost needs no explanation. There’s no wonder why this one went viral on the Internet. It is a panel of experts to discuss birth control in a hearing at the United States of America Capitol Hill.

I’m torn between laughter of the ridiculous image and the people who are foolish enough to let this happen.. and outrage of the situation portrayed. And extremely embarrassed. How can we tell other countries how to create a representational government when we do this? World, we are better than this. honestly. Please forgive this sight.

I am so tempted to draw unflattering comparisons to some other countries on the basis of poor representational governing systems. But I won’t. It would be grossly judgmental on whichever country I choose to compare with, and that defeats my goal of remaining an objective traveler.

As a citizen, however, I am free to express my outrage because it is my right as a citizen to demand a higher bar from my own country.

2 thoughts on “Oh Dear. Vote by Representation, eh?

  1. I’m torn between laughter of the ridiculous image and the people who are foolish enough to let this happen.. .
    +
    in Germany at least we have a female chancellor – Angela Merkel – though she is a sort of Margret Thatcher: it is a kind of female evolution even in conservative groups …

Leave a Reply

