Teatime! Scones, WST style

I believe the Brits love their lovely tea. But I also believe when they say “time for tea” that it is equivalent to “take a break!” Whether you actually have tea or not.

Still, I welcomed my visiting family with a batch of scones to go with their tea. After all, that would be the proper local thing to do, wouldn’t it?  I have been experimenting with scone recipes and I think I just perfected my savory batch.

Those of you who are the type who absolutely need specific measurements, I’m sorry. It just isn’t my style. I eyeball my ingredients whenever I can.

2 cups self-rising flour
salt to taste
6 tbsp butter
1/2 cup milk
1 egg, separated
1 leek
1 fistful shredded mature parmesan cheese
1 pieces of cooked bacon, diced

Preheat oven to 400F (200C).

Mix salt, flour, butter. In separate bowl, mix egg yolk with milk. Pour milk into dry mixture. Knead until even. Mix in rest of ingredients. Roll 2″ balls from the mixture and place on baking sheet. Brush egg white on each scone for shine. Bake for ~15 minutes or until golden. Serve warm.

4 thoughts on “Teatime! Scones, WST style

  1. Ah now maybe that’s the recipe I should use – I made some about 20 years ago and my dog at the time refused to eat them…they were more like rock cakes! I haven’t made them since!

    • Hahaha! You didn’t make scones again because of your dog’s reaction? Never having been a dog owner I can’t say it has been a criterion I considered. I suppose chocolate chip version is a no-go.

      • Believe me if the dog wouldn’t eat them – they weren’t fit for human consumption!!! Choc chip would be a perfect version for me though:)

        • ah, that kind of dog eating habit. I have a similar one in my family, only two-legged. it’s my father ;)

Leave a Reply

