Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

I realise I offer a more depressing interpretation. Bear with me as I use this opportunity to say: Lest we forget.

The fall of human dignity: Converting a former high school into a prison and torture centre, targeting the educated class. Pol Pot and Khmer Rouge regime in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

I recently finished a superb but terribly sad book, Life and Death in Shanghai. The author Nien Cheng survived imprisonment during the chaotic Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. Chairman Mao Zedong used the social-political movement to destroy capitalism and imperialism, in the charge of enforcing communism. The current Shanghai would have both saddened her as well as given her hope for her native country. I offer a symbol of the fall of the Proletarian Revolution demonstrated by the return of capitalism. Unfortunately, the revolution shattered so many lives, and tore part a country’s ancient history and culture.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

  1. S 21, I think it’s admirable that you’ve brought this subject up as this week’s challenge. I personally don’t see it as depressing, its thought provoking and upsetting at the same time, that was also how I felt when I visited Cambodia a couple of years back.

    Thank you for sharing this post!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Isn’t it sad, visiting the Khmer Rouge sites in Cambodia. I’ve returned to Cambodia many times and each time, I get a progressively deeper sense of sadness when watching the people.. they lost so much, and collectively don’t realise how much… the appreciation has been forgotten over time.

  2. Incredible to think that so many suffered when they could have been enjoying the simple pleasure of an ice cream all those years ago. Indeed, lest we forget the price so many have paid for that freedom and thank you for sharing.

    • It is amazing. For me, it’s the realization how recent these kinds of things happened.. and continue to happen in some places. I’ve had the luxury and luck to be brought up in a country that gives me a lot of security and independence.. seeing and hearing about the kind of suffering people went though makes me all the more grateful for what I have.

    • Thank you, Jo! After posting that up, I went right outside and started taking autumn photos to celebrate my first fall season in years! :)

Leave a Reply

