Wat Pho

Daily Post topic: Grab the nearest book to you right now. Jump to paragraph 3, second Sentence. Write it in a post.

Book: The Rough Guide to Southeast Asia on a Budget, 1st edition
Page: 758
Paragraph 3: Wat Pho
Second Sentence: In 1832, Rama turned the temple into “Thailand’s first university” by decorating the walls with diagrams on history, literature, and animal husbandry.

Wat Pho is one of Bangkok’s most famous attractions. It is usually the first destination for tourists. Its immense reclining Buddha figure is so perfect for the perception and stereotype of glittery Thai culture with its deep religious roots. I did not know about the animal husbandry; if I have to accompany more visitors back to Wat Pho, you can bet I’ll be paying very  close attention to the murals on that go-around!

Wat Pho is also said to be the home of the Thai massage. There is a school on the grounds where you can get an 30-minute Thai massage from students. I forget what going rate is. It is truly unfortunate that the location is rather inconvenient. Every time I am there, it’s in the middle of a hot sweaty day out sightseeing. Getting a massage in my sticky condition only to have to continue trudging in the humidity never ever appealed to me. Don’t get me wrong. At the right place and time, Thai massages are a godsend and a great way for me to loosen up my muscles.

Leave a Reply

