Weekly Photo Challenge: Lines

Nikon D80, f 5.6, 1/125, 35mm

Taken at the reconstructed Temple of Philae in Aswan, Egypt. The original one was on sinking island so the Government of Egypt succeeded in a huge undertaking of rebuilding the temple on a different island.

I’m fond of two things to photograph. Pillars and sunsets. Pillars always create an array of different lines for my composition. I’ve noticed I have the tendency to take my pictures a little crooked, a habit I’m trying very hard to fix, now that I am aware of it.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lines

    • a level in a camera? What brand camera do you have? Mine has the option of gridlines on the screen, which I suppose I could use. Since I’m trying to hone my camera handling, I may as well try to eye a level line.

    • Thank you, Teresa. I lucked out in spotting this row in a rather ignored part of the temple. Welcome and thanks for dropping by!

  1. Great picture. I wouldn’t worry too much about not being perfectly square when you click the shutter as you can adjust this post-printing (wet or cyber). Sometimes you can achieve different effects simply by trimming a picture to align with a specific data in the image e.g. in your pic above, there are various lines that you could use as the datum to square the image and by doing this change the emphasis within the image…

    • Thanks for the feedback! I’ll play around with the editing a bit to see what I can do. This is one of my luckiest shots lately and I’m still trying to figure out how I want to print it and frame it.

    • Thanks for visiting! Aren’t the photo challenges great? Hope to see you and your photos around in the future.

  2. Great shot! The pillars work nicely to draw your eye down to the doorway. I’m not too good at straightness even with my camera’s grid lines, but cropping can fix a lot. :) It looks like a fun place to visit!

    • It was a beautiful destination. By the end of the cruise, we saw so many temples it all blurred together but this one was a nice ending. Not to mention an adventure to get to!

Leave a Reply

