Deer, Dad, and bananas, seriously

I took my parents to Ancient Siam (previously named Ancient City).. For all the park offers, it was the petting zoo that got my parents’ attention. A petting zoo of deer, not a truly common animal sighting in Southeast Asia. And what were they fed? Bananas. Not their natural diet, clearly.

I admit even I had fun.. watching the deer eat bananas. The park sold bunches of slightly over-ripe bananas. Dad eyed them.. then quietly said “I’m hungry.” So we bought a bunch for Dad, and fed a couple to the deer to appease his guilty conscience. After watching the deer, I then realized they don’t want the bananas! They only want the peel. Had I figured that out earlier, I would have peeled and fed both Dad and the deer and made them all happy.

Watching the video of the deer working through the bananas still makes me giggle. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

